Council Chair Alice L. Lee

Vice-Chair Yuki Lei K. Sugimura

Presiding Officer Pro Tempore Tasha Kama

Councilmembers
Tom Cook
Gabe Johnson
Tamara Paltin
Keani N.W. Rawlins-Fernandez
Shane M. Sinenci
Nohelani Uʻu-Hodgins



Director of Council Services David M. Raatz, Jr., Esq.

Deputy Director of Council Services Richelle K. Kawasaki, Esq.

## **COUNTY COUNCIL**

COUNTY OF MAUI 200 S. HIGH STREET WAILUKU, MAUI, HAWAII 96793 www.MauiCounty.us

March 18, 2024

TO: The Honorable Lynn DeCoite, Chair, and

Members of the Senate Committee on Energy, Economic Development, and

Tourism

The Honorable Chris Lee, Chair, and

Members of the Senate Committee on Transportation and Culture and the

Arts

FROM: Alice L. Lee

Council Chair

SUBJECT: HEARING OF MARCH 19, 2024; TESTIMONY IN SUPPORT OF HB2012,

HD2, RELATING TO ELECTRIC VEHICLE PARKING

Thank you for the opportunity to testify in **support** of this measure, which: (a) removes the exemption that allowed owners to electrify fewer parking spaces than required in one or more of their properties; and (b) authorizes counties to regulate electric vehicle charging systems for places of public accommodation with fewer than 100 parking spaces.

I provide this testimony as an individual member of the Maui County Council.

I **support** of this measure for the following reasons:

- 1. This measure encourages broad distribution of electric vehicle parking spaces throughout a county by removing the exemption that allowed owners to designate fewer than the required parking spaces if they could aggregate electric parking spaces from several properties to meet the overall requirement.
- 2. The measure supports the counties' commitment to 100% clean energy transportation by 2045 by providing them clear authority to regulate electric vehicle charging systems for places of public accommodation with fewer than 100 parking spaces.

For the foregoing reasons, I **support** this measure.